Defence and Security Alert - DSAlert.Org

Saturday March 28, 2020

Current Issue: March 2020

Click here for all past issues



English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Ashok Chakra

| | | Share |


Ashok ChakraThe Ashok Chakra is an Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. It is the peace time equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra and is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice other than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded either to military or civilian personnel and may be awarded posthumously.

The medal is circular gold gilt, 1-3/8 inches in diameter. In the centre, the chakra (wheel) of Ashoka, surrounded by a lotus wreath and with an ornate edge. Suspended by a straight bar suspender. The medal is named on the edge.

ASHOK CHAKRA has been awarded to the following:



Ashok Chakra Awardee (26th Jan 2015)

Naik Neeraj Kumar Singh, Raj Rif / 57 RR (POSTHUMOUS)


Indian Army Winners of Gallantry Awards 15 Aug 2014

Maj Mukund Varadarajan (POSTHUMOUS), 22 Rajput, 44 RR


Ashok Chakra Awardee (26th Jan 2014)

Sub-Inspector K Prasad Babu (POSTHUMOUS)


Ashok Chakra Awardee (26th Jan 2012)

Lieutenant Navdeep Singh (POSTHUMOUS)


Ashok Chakra Awardee (26th Jan 2011)

Major Laishram Jyotin Singh

blog comments powered by Disqus
You are here: Home Gallantry Awards Ashok Chakra