Indian Army

The Indian Army is the land-based branch of the Indian Armed Forces. It is the largest component of the Indian Armed Forces with 1,237,117 active troops and 960,000 reserve troops. The Indian Army is also the second-largest standing army in the world. Like any other branches of the Indian Armed Forces, working at the Indian Army is a matter of great pride and prestige.

The Indian Army Ranks reflect the ranks of Western militaries, especially, the British and Commonwealth Militaries. At present, the Indian Army Ranks are classified into three categories:

  1. Commissioned Officers
  2. Junior Commissioned Officers
  3. Other Ranks (Non-Commissioned Officers and Soldiers)

Let us look at the Indian Army Ranks under each of the three categories.

Indian Army Ranks – Commissioned OfficersInsignia DescriptionCollar Patch
Field MarshalNational emblem over a crossed baton and sabre in a lotus blossom wreath.
Crimson patches with Five golden stars
GeneralNational emblem over a five-pointed star, all over a crossed baton and sabre.
Crimson patches with Four golden stars
Lieutenant GeneralNational emblem over crossed baton and sabre.
Crimson patches with Three golden stars
Major GeneralFive-pointed star over crossed baton and sabre.
Crimson patches with Two golden stars
BrigadierNational emblem over three five-pointed stars in a triangular formation.
Crimson patches with One golden star
ColonelNational emblem over two five-pointed stars
Crimson patches with golden braids
Lieutenant ColonelNational emblem over five-pointed star.
MajorNational emblem
CaptainThree five-pointed stars.
LieutenantTwo five-pointed stars.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other subscribers