Defence and Security Alert - DSAlert.Org

Saturday March 28, 2020

Current Issue: March 2020

Click here for all past issues



English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Veer Chakra

| | | Share |

Veer ChakraVeer Chakra is an Indian gallantry award presented for acts of bravery in the battlefield. Award of the decoration carries with it the right to use Vr.C. as a postnominal abbreviation. It is third in precedence in the wartime gallantry awards and comes after the Param Veer Chakra and Maha Veer Chakra.

The medal is 1-3/8 inch circular silver medal. A five pointed star, with the chakra in the centre, and, on this, the domed gilded State emblem. The decoration is named on the rim and suspended from a swivelling straight-bar suspender. The decoration is almost always named and dated on the edge. Around a plain centre, two legends separated by lotus flowers; above Veer Chakra in Hindi and in English. The ribbon is 32 mm, half dark blue and half orange-saffron. Dark blue 16 mm, saffron 16 mm.

Notable Vir Chakra Awardees

  • Ajay Ahuja
  • Dinesh Chandra Bhandary
  • Kuldip Singh Brar
  • Alfred Tyrone Cooke
  • Vonthibettu Prabhakara Hegde
  • Denzil Keelor
  • Trevor Keelor
  • Krishan Kant Saini
  • Mohammad Ahmed Zaki
  • Satish Nambiar
  • Arun Prakash
  • Jerry Prem Raj
  • Rajiq Khan
  • Shish Ram Gill
  • Laxminarayan Ramdas
  • Zafar Ali Shah
  • Harbaksh Singh
  • Subedar Randhir Singh
  • Sunil Khokhar
  • Vijayant Thapar
  • Gopal Krishna Trivedi
  • Haneef Uddin
  • Zorawar Chand Bakhshi

The award carries with it a cash allowance and, in some cases, a lump sum cash award.

blog comments powered by Disqus
You are here: Home Gallantry Awards Veer Chakra